Can we go back to November?

10 Dec

Not that I don’t love December … but I cooked some darn good food for Thanksgiving and seeing as how this is a new blog, I’d love to post some pictures of the Am’Mazing Crispy Duck I cooked! Mmm… I can close my eyes and still taste/smell it!

 

My quest for a duck started the day before Thanksgiving, so I got a crash course on how to defrost a frozen 6lb duck FAST! The answer … an entire afternoon in a sink full of water.  The one thing I was not prepared for was all the “parts” that needed to be cleaned out! You want me to stick my hand in where? I’ve never relinquished my rights to a kitchen so fast in my life! Ohhhh, Boyfriend?!

 

You know, cooking a duck isn’t all that hard. I found a recipe online for “Crispy Duck” … you basically clean up the duck {the worst part}, trim off some fat, rinse with water, pat dry inside and out, and poke with a fork a million times. The crisp part comes from taking 2 cups of boiling water and pouring it over the duck {breast side up on a roasting rack with a 13×9 pan under it} after you have poked it, etc. It is truly Ah’Mazing .. you can see with your own eyes the skin of the duck shrivel up with the boiling water! It caught me off guard, I even let out a little squeal! Anyhow.. You cool the duck and pour any of the water that got stuck in the cavity into the pan below. You want to leave this water in the pan. Then you just pat it dry inside and out, and salt and pepper inside and out, rubbing it into the skin.

 

At 425 degrees, you cook it breast side up for 45 minutes, flip over and do another 45 minutes, then flip again and do another 45 minutes {or until golden brown}. And, you want to let the duck sit for about 15 minutes before you carve it. **A little side note: The duck I bought had a package of duck sauce with it – it had a beautiful orange/clove taste to it and made for great dipping sauce. So, if yours happens to come with that – dont’ throw it away like I almost did.**

 

 

 

I was pretty proud of this duck. It was not that time-consuming to prepare, and really could be done on any night where you had a little over 2 hours to wait for something to bake. {sigh} Since it was Thanksgiving, I made a green bean casserole – which I wasn’t too fond of – and some roasted petite organic potatoes in olive oil, rosemary, and garlic. They turned out delish too … and looked a little bit like peanuts when I was done with them …

 

 

 

Even our dog, who NEVER.EVER.EVER gets people food, was allowed a little treat for the holiday. What could possibly be better than some slow boiled duck parts mixed in with some white rice  and a little bit of olive oil? He was such a happy little man. The olive oil is good for their coat, and the rice really helps with their digestion … but all he knew was that there was something Ah’Mazing in his bowl! Lucky dog!

 

 

 

Well… this has now inspired me to start planning a Christmas menu! And, with a trip home to see the family – perhaps TWO menus are in order! Ohh.. YES!

One Response to “Can we go back to November?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Duck, Duck, Dinner « Emerging Domesticity - January.10.2010

    […] Crispy Duck, Creamed Spinach, Garlic Mashed Potatoes, and Sweet Potato Souffle. Click the names if you’d like to read my blogs about these dishes. I’ll be adding the sweet potato and cheese ball in the next few days! […]

Leave a Reply

