Taco Soup: Comfort on a Cold Night

10 Dec

If you ask me, nothing is better than some good ‘ole comfort food on a cold night. I think any Southern girl would agree, a drop below 60 degrees and I’m ready for some pajama pants, warm fuzzy socks, a comforter, and a big bowl of soup! And, that is just what I did tonight.

 

As you will learn from my posts, I’m certainly no cook. I would venture to say that I’ve only come out of my cooking shell in the last 2 years. Generally speaking, my abilities 2 years ago consisted of:  1. hot dogs 2. macaroni and 3. anything involving a microwave. Today, even my hot dog abilities are starting to improve {chili cheese dogs anyone?} … I’m much more adventurous and attempt recipes that weren’t even in my vocab last year! This recipe however, is a PIECE OF CAKE! You couldn’t ask for a better quick-easy-smells good-recipe if you tried!

Easy Taco Soup {Don’t let the title deceive you – it tastes DELISH!}

You will need:

  • 1 – 1 1/2 pounds of lean ground beef
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 can of yellow corn
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 medium size jar of Picante sauce. (I like the HOT!)
  • 2 cans of chicken broth
  • sour cream
  • shredded cheddar cheese
  • nacho chips (I really like the Tostitos Organic Yellow Corn Chips – They’re thicker and stay crunchy in the soup longer)

You won’t believe how simple: Chop up the onion and add it to the meat as you brown it. Once it’s ready – combine it with the chicken broth, the corn (DON’T drain the corn or the beans – I know it feels weird, but its ok), the beans and the Picante sauce. Basically – throw it all in a pot – easy smeasy! Let it cook for about 30 minutes to an hour. When you are ready to serve – add a dollop of sour cream, some shredded cheese, and some crumbled nacho chips to each serving! Whala. Taco Soup. {Thanks mom for the recipe}

This picture is while it is still in the pot, and doesn’t have the sour cream, cheese, or chips in it yet! Taco Soup got rave reviews at my house tonight and really hit the spot on this cold night. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did … Let me know, I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

