Shrimp and Avocado Salad

15 Dec

Just a quick recipe for one of my favorite salads. With shrimp, it can be used as a whole meal if you aren’t in the mood for a heavy, meat and potatoes dinner. Without the shrimp, it is great as a side salad! {I usually pair i with a Mexican dish, but it would probably ‘go’ with a lot of things} And, like most of the things I cook – it’s easy!

Shrimp & Avocado Salad

[approx 2 servings]

You will need:

  • 2 avocados
  • 1/4 a small Onion
  • 1 Tomato (eww, I hate them – but you might love them)
  • Fresh Lemon Juice
  • Fresh Parsley
  • 2-3 Cloves of Garlic
  • Shrimp (I use 4-5 per serving)
  • Olive Oil

To make:

To get the shrimp ready, I peel them and saute them in some butter and garlic until pink. Set them to the side and let them cool.

Peel the avocados and dice into small chunks. Put into mixing bowl. Mince the garlic and add to bowl. Finely chop the onion and add a bit to the bowl (I don’t use the whole 1/4 of the onion, I add to taste). If you are adding tomatoes, dice them and add them to the bowl. For the “dressing” you will add 1 TBSP of Olive Oil for every 2 TBSP’s of Lemon Juice (I usually do this twice). Chop up the parsley and add to bowl (This is also to taste, I usually use between 1-2 TBSP’s if I had to guess).  Add the shrimp and mix everything together gently. It’s now ready to serve.

That pretty much sums it up. I don’t have a picture of this one yet… I will have to remember to take one and post it the next time I make this salad. Everything about this salad can be done without measuring. Once you get comfortable with the ingredients and how you want the texture to be, you can wing it! I hope you love it & as always, if you make it – let me hear how it goes!

One Response to “Shrimp and Avocado Salad”

  1. amongtheseclouds December.23.2009 at 2:02 am #

    how funny, i just made this very salad. wordpress showed me related entries and it brought me to this entry.

    you described your recipe much better than i did !

Leave a Reply

