Chicken Broccoli Casserole and Bubba Burgers …

16 Dec

I hope you didn’t read the title to this post and think I was a complete nutcase {psh!} … No, I’m not suggesting you combine the two – I’m just feeling a little random today. Last night, I made Angus Beef Bubba Burgers. While you could probably buy some ground beef and make cheeseburgers for 10 for the price of a box of these pre-made patties, they are just plain good. The ol’ George Foreman works wonders … slap some cheese on ’em and you’re good to go. I did peel and cut some Yukon Gold Potatoes and fried them {home fries=heaven}, added a little sea salt and they turned out delish! It all came together for a fairly simple, yet fantastic {fatty} dinner. Go me!

 

Tonight, I’m feeling like a casserole – mostly because I don’t feel like cooking. {Shocking} On days like that, Chicken and Broccoli Casserole to the rescue. So, here we go:

Chicken & Broccoli Casserole

{taken some time ago from cooks.com, sorry i don’t have the link anymore}

Based on approx 4-6 servings

You will need:

4 TBSPs of Butter

1/3 Cup of Flour

1 TSP of Salt

1/8 TSP of Pepper

1/8 TSP of Garlic Powder

1 Cup of Chicken Broth

1 1/2 Cup of Milk

1 Bag of Instant Rice (you know, ‘Boil a Bag’)

2 Cups of Chicken (I use more than this, and by the Tyson frozen Roasted Chicken that comes in cubes)

1/4 Cup of Shredded Cheddar Cheese (I also use more cheese than is called for)

3/4 Cup of Frozen Broccoli (I use the small florets, and also use more than is called for)

Bread Crumbs for Topping

To Make:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Start the rice. In a fairly large saucepan, melt the butter over low heat. In a separate bowl, combine the flower, salt, pepper,and garlic and slowly add to the melted butter. Mix over low heat until mixture is paste like and bubbly. Add the chicken broth and milk – whisk/stir constantly over low to medium heat until thick and smooth. Let boil (still stirring constantly) for about 1 minute. Add remaining ingredients (chicken, cheese, rice, and broccoli). I tend to use more of these ingredients than called for, because I like a thick and chunky casserole. Pour into casserole pan and top with thin layer of bread crumbs. Place in oven at 350 for approx 40 – 45 minutes, or until bread crumbs start to brown around edges of pan. Let sit 5-10 minutes before serving to thicken. Whala!

 

Mmmm… sounds delish to me! I will try to take a picture for you guys! {preferably before it turns into leftovers sitting in Tupperware for 2 days} I hope you enjoy. This is another one of those meals that is perfect comfort food, especially when you don’t feel like whipping up a gourmet meal! And, as always, if you make it – I’d love to hear!

One Response to “Chicken Broccoli Casserole and Bubba Burgers …”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Broccoli & Rice Casserole {Picture Tutorial} « Emerging Domesticity - February.1.2010

    […] Casserole. {the chicken just begged me to jump in the cart} I blogged about it once before: here, but never posted any pictures. Tonight, you get […]

Leave a Reply

