Dreamin’ of Potato Soup

18 Dec

 

Probably much to the dismay of anyone reading this blog, I actually do not weigh 600 lbs and lay around dreaming of my next meal. In all actuality, I just love to find new recipes and the excitement I feel when what I cook turns out to be edible. {which isn’t always the case}  However, tonight I am dreaming … Dreaming of some potato soup!

 

We have a restaurant in my home town called California Dreaming. Ah’mazing salads {don’t let the word ‘salad’ fool you, there isn’t anything healthy about these salads} and wonderful fantastic Potato Soup!!! For months after my first visit, I would crave the soup like mad!! When I moved, much to my surprise, we didn’t have a California Dreaming – and so my search began – to track down a recipe! About six months ago, I found a recipe online from a person claiming to have worked at the restaurant and to know all the secret ingredients! I made the soup not too long after, and must say it came out really close to the original. I’ve posted it below incase you have the urge! {warning, this recipe may cause large amounts of fat to affix to your rear – but its worth it! ha}

 

California Dreaming’s Potato Soup {supposedly an authentic recipe}

You’re going to need:

1/4 cup onion, minced
1/4 cup celery, minced
1/3 cup flour
3 cups chicken stock
2-3 large potatoes, cubed
1 teaspoon basil, fresh {sweet}
1/2 teaspoon white pepper
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup sour cream
fresh parsley, chopped
8 strips bacon, crumbled
fresh chives, chopped
cheddar cheese, grated

And, here’s what you do:

  • Cook bacon slowly over medium-low heat until crisp, taking care not to brown the fat. Set bacon aside, leaving rendered fat in the pan.
  • Add onions and celery and sauté until tender.
  • Add Flour and mix well.
  • Add chicken stock and stir until all flour is dissolved. Continue to stir and bring to a boil.
  • Reduce heat to a simmer. Add potatoes and let soup simmer until potatoes are tender (about 30 minutes).
  • Add heavy cream, sour cream, basil, and white pepper. Let simmer for another 10 minutes until soup is hot again.
  • Add chopped parsley. Crumble bacon strips and mix with chives and cheese. Garnish each portion of soup with the bacon/chives/cheese mixture.

I found this picture {which looks just like how they serve it in the restaurant} and thought I would put it up as a guide on how it is garnished. I hope you enjoy, and of course – if you make it, I’d love to hear about it!!!

 

One Response to “Dreamin’ of Potato Soup”

  1. clara August.27.2011 at 10:46 am #

    Oh my gosh, this is AWESOME!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

