Back up, or I’ll burn you with my heating pad!

21 Dec

 

Christmas is fast approaching, and I have not a single thing done. I feel like I need to be whipping out a sewing machine or baking up a storm. The baking part may be exactly what I do to make up for the fact that we are in “the greatest economic crisis since the great depression” {snooze} and I have little to no money to spend on lavish presents for my big and ever-growing circle of family and friends. Besides, Christmas really isn’t about the presents. I’m learning in my old age that Christmas really is about being with the people you love and sharing in the spirit of the holiday. And, the ones who understand that will certainly admire my creative gifting!

 

{ok, enough of the Christmas high horse} … Let’s talk about how much pain I’m in today. This morning, while playing with the dog, I seem to have done something to my neck. Can’t bend it backwards or to the left. Sharp shooting pain. Oh, the joy. I took a few Motrin and got a warm compress and laid down on the bed and fell asleep. The heat felt so nice and in combination with the Motrin – I was out. I really didn’t think the compress was that hot. It’s one of those clay ones that you put in the microwave for a minute and a half, and then put inside a fabric sleeve. apparently, it was too hot though, because I woke up with what looks like a trail of hickeys running down the side of my neck. I guess I burned myself – or came close to it … {yes, stamp stupid on my forehead} … No, it doesn’t hurt. I didn’t even know it was there until I went to take a shower later on. And, no it didn’t hurt or burn when the hot shower water was on it in the shower – so I guess it can’t be that bad – just looks a little rough! {only me} It did get me out of cooking dinner though! The boyfriend felt so sorry for my poor pathetic self that he went and picked up some dinner. {Brunswick Stew and French Bread followed by Cranberry Apple Pie} What a nice evening!

 

This was the culprit:

It’s great – don’t get me wrong – but I wouldn’t recommend heating it up and falling asleep with hot clay wrapped around your neck! See the insides:

 

Anyhow – those are my ramblings for the night! Hope ya’ll got a good laugh out of my misfortune!

{Be on the look out for a recipe for Chocolate Chip Cheese Balls in the next few days. Had these at a holiday party a few years ago and can’t wait to make them this year!}

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Back up, or I’ll burn you with my heating pad!”

  1. MaryPat December.23.2009 at 7:51 am #

    Uh oh! Neck/back pain does seem to put a screeching halt on everything. You aren’t being a baby!

Leave a Reply

