Meatballs in Sunday Sauce

22 Dec

 

My pain has lessened somewhat – although, I spent most of the day with either a Bengay patch or a hot compress on my neck. I’m such a weakling. I also took some Motrin throughout the day, and am now enjoying the relaxing effects of two glasses of wine. {Delight} It is funny how when your neck is in pain, the rest of your body seems to follow. I find myself moving extra slow, positioning myself just right on the couch, and being slightly more ‘needy’ than usual! And, although I could probably heat up the hot compress or pour a glass of wine on my own –  it is much more fun to use big puppy dog eyes and ask for help! {tisk tisk} Perhaps my neck will hurt for a few more days!

 

We tried something new for dinner tonight: Mama Mancini Meatballs in Sunday Sauce:

And, to tell you the truth, it was quite delicious. One box contained 6 large meatballs and ‘Sunday Sauce.’ I would say you need two boxes for 3 or more people, but one box is just the right size for 2. {Simply because it’s all meatballs and little sauce} But, the sauce is GREAT. It has a great texture, not too thick and not too thin, and has just the right balance of sweet vs. acidic. We made a little side salad and heated up some french bread and it was the perfect meal.

 

From what I understand, the story behind this company is quite inspiring as well. The owner took his grandmothers recipe {which she served on Sundays} and made it the flagship for his company. The meatballs are 100% real beef and are formed by hand, just like her grandmother would have done. And the sauce is made from pure Italian plum tomatoes cooked for several hours – all brought to us, and ready in 20 minutes. It is very simple – just heat and serve with the noodles of your choice. You can click here to see the owner appear on the Martha Stewart Show.

 

Anyhow – they are only found in certain grocery stores and when I looked on their website tonight, the price is outrageous for the two boxes they want to sell you. And, while I can’t remember what we paid for ours – it certainly wasn’t that much. I’m nuts, but not that nuts. So, if you find them at your grocer and they are reasonable – I’d definitely say scoop them up for dinner! And, as always, let me know how they turn out! Night ya’ll.

One Response to “Meatballs in Sunday Sauce”

  1. daniel mancini January.5.2010 at 8:46 pm #

    THANKS FOR THE NICE COMMENTS ABOUT MY GRANDMOTHERS RECIPE! WE ARE SOLD IN MANY MARKETS AND THE AVERAGE PRICE FOR A 6 PACK IS AROUND $6.99. OUR WEBSITE IS MAMAMANCINIS.COM FROM THERE YOU CAN EMAIL ME DIRECTLY OR FOLLOW ON TWITTER OR FACEBOOK. VERY SOON OUR STORE LOCATOR WILL BE UP AND RUNNING. MY BLOG IS DANIELMANCINI.COM. MY DREAM IS TO HELP BRING BACK THE FAMILY DINNER AND HOPEFULLY THROUGH MAKING MY GRANDMOTHERS MEATBALLS AND SAUCE AVAILABLE IT WILL HAPPEN.
    BEST WISHES
    DANIEL MANCINI

Leave a Reply

