Christmas Traditions

24 Dec

 

Many years ago my grandmother taught me how to crochet. I can remember being really young and sitting around my grannies house watching her crochet blankets and scarves, especially during holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas where there really wasn’t much to do except sit around and ‘just be’ with everyone. I remember her only knowing one stitch {maybe it was that she only taught ME one stitch} but that one stitch made the most beautiful and cozy scarves and blankets. It also was a great way to pass the time.

 

Since I’m not home with my family for Christmas yet, I thought a great way to “feel at home” would be to make a blanket. Why a blanket? Because, I’ve always said I was making a blanket and then stopped short at a scarf!! So, last night at nearly 8:00 pm, I decided I needed to run out to the craft store and get some yarn immediately. And, thats just what I did. One day down, and I’m about 20 rows into my blanket. Looking good if I do say so myself!

 

I got a comment yesterday that I was the “Stiletto Queen,” and that picturing me sitting down making a blanket was like a paradox. Personally, I think it’s great to surprise people. There are lots of things I can do that may be surprising. Perhaps a tutorial on how to change your cars oil is in order, cause you know I can do that too!!! Merry Christmas Eve, Ya’ll!

 

Leave a Reply

