This Ain’t Your Grandma’s Blanket!

28 Dec

 

I’ve been a little busy the last few days {expanding my knowledge} and haven’t dedicated enough time to finishing up my blanket. And then last night, I ran out of yarn. Of course, I ran out of yarn when the craft stores were all closed. {and I refuse to shop at WalMart} Needless to say, it will be a few days before I can get some more – but I thought I would update you on the status {plus I really like taking pictures of it because it is so darn cute}

 

 

I’m trying really hard to keep all my stitches tight and even….

 

I found out from my new friend, The Elder Lady, that the stitch I’ve been doing is a ‘double crochet’ … I looked it up on Google and I’m not too sure if that is it – it looks different to me. Anyone know the name of this stitch? I’m also thinking about adding a border around the perimeter of the blanket when I’m done. Perhaps in a solid color, or maybe with some fabric? I don’t know … maybe I’ll just like it the way it is. That’s all for now… back to the brain.

2 Responses to “This Ain’t Your Grandma’s Blanket!”

  1. Stephanie December.30.2009 at 12:30 pm #

    Looks like Double Crochet to me!! The reason it looks a bit different then what you see online is probably because you seem to be dc-ing into the space between your dcs (which will give them more of a “bricked” effect). If you were to begin dc-ing INTO the dc directly below you will see the difference in the stitch. I hope this helps answer your question…. Great job on the blanket so far!!! And if you EVER have any crochet questions, i’d be happy to help you out!! Happy Crocheting

  2. Leslie Pease January.15.2011 at 11:00 am #

    I really love the colors. Your work on this is beautiful and your stitches appear so consistent.

    I bet she loves it!!

Leave a Reply

