Easy Broccoli and Cheese Quiche

2 Jan

 

Last night, I watched nearly four hours of Julia and Jacques: Cooking at Home. Everything from salads to beef bourguignon. Not only did it make me very hungry, but it sparked my little domestic bug. My emerging domesticity jolted me out of bed this morning {psh!} with an idea to bake a Quiche. Now, something about the word ‘quiche’ screams DIFFICULT to me. But, when I sat down and read over a few different recipes, I found there really isn’t that much to it. {to my delight} Armed with my camera and Julia and Jacques speaking to me like little voices over my shoulder, I set out to document the whole thing. So here we go:

 

Easy Broccoli and Cheese Quiche

{Adapted from: Allrecipes.com}

{Yields approx 6 servings}

 

You will need:

2 TBSP Butter

1 Onion – Minced {I’ll talk about this more later, but I really think 1/4-1/2 an onion is plenty}

1 TSP Minced Garlic

2 Cups Fresh Broccoli – Chopped Fine

1 Pie Crust – 9 inch

1 1/2 Cup Shredded Mozzarella

4 Eggs

1 1/2 Cup Milk

1 TSP Salt

1/2 TSP Pepper

1 TBSP Melted Butter

 

Here’s we go:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Over medium to low heat, melt butter {2 TBSP}, add onions, garlic, and broccoli. Cook slowly until veggies are soft.

3. Spoon into pie crust and add cheese

4. In a mixing bowl, combine eggs, milk, salt, pepper, and melted butter. Whisk well. Pour over the veggies and cheese.

5. Bake for 30-40 minutes. Until center is set. {or, if you’re like me.. attempt to wait patiently, peeking through the stove window every five minutes to ensure aliens haven’t taken you Quiche}

And, here she is:

 

Now, we need to talk about these onions. My Quiche looks beautiful… but tasted like an onion Quiche not a broccoli Quiche. I would strongly suggest using less onion. Perhaps a half an onion, or even a fourth an onion would be more appropriate. Needless to say, I could only eat one piece before the taste was too overpowering to continue. I will make this again, but next time with a smaller dose of onions!

 

She was beautiful though, and I really enjoyed making it. I think I’ll use the other pie crust {buy on get one free} and make a ham and cheese one for dinner?! I hope you enjoy. And, as always, if you make it – I’d love to hear how it goes!

 

Leave a Reply

