Midnight Snack: Bacon, Egg & Toast Pods {amazing}

3 Jan

 

I’m not too sure what has gotten into me today. I feel like some kind of domestic goddess has jumped inside me and is rattling ideas around in my brain. While reading another blog {Annie’s Eats}, I came across this super cute idea for bacon, eggs, and toast. Mind you, it’s nearly midnight… but I literally jumped up to see if we had some bacon! Much to my dismay, the only bacon we had was frozen. Nothing a little water bath in the sink can’t thaw out {hooray!} So, off to the kitchen {armed with my camera} for a midnight snack!

 

Bacon, Egg, and Toast Pods {so cute, and really easy}

{Source: Annie’s Eats}

{Yields: Four Servings}

 

You will need:
4 pieces of bread

4 eggs

4 slices of bacon

Shredded Cheese

Butter

Salt and Pepper

Large Muffin Pan

 

Here’s what you do:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease muffin pan with butter. Cut out 4 slices of bread into circles {I used a drinking glass and it was perfect}

 

2. In a fry pan, cook the bacon slices until they are almost cooked fully. You don’t want them to crisp too much in the oven.

 

3. Remove bacon from fry pan to a plate with paper towels to soak up the grease. Next, take the bacon and lay it around the perimeter of the muffin well. Put the bread in at the same time… so the bread is helping hold the bacon in place.

 

4. Add a small bit of shredded cheese to the center of each piece of bread. Then, crack an egg, removing a little bit of the white, dropping the remaining white and yolk onto the bread. Repeat for all cups.

 

5. Bake in the oven for approximately 6-10 minutes, depending on how runny you like your egg. I found the best way to remove these from the pan is to take a knife around the edge and then lift them out with a serving spoon. Salt and Pepper to taste.

 

These really turned out amazing and were amazingly simple to make. Perfect for my midnight snack .. or for when you are serving several people at once. You don’t have to slave over the stove making sunny-side-up eggs for everyone individually. Throw these babies in the oven .. and you’re set! I hope that you all try these! And, of course, if you do – I’d love to hear how it goes! Night Ya’ll!

One Response to “Midnight Snack: Bacon, Egg & Toast Pods {amazing}”

  1. it's a secret January.4.2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Guess what I just made for my brunch?! They were so so yummy! So yummy that I ate 3 and I feel quite sick now. But they are so cute that I wanted to try it!

Leave a Reply

