Pho: Beef Noodle Soup Recipe {Picture Tutorial}

7 Jan

 

It’s not getting any warmer over here. Frankly, I’m freezing. I’m a whimp when it comes to the cold. And, what more could I possibly want on such a cold night? A nice big bowl of soup! I’ve posted before about my Pho recipe, but tonight I had camera in hand and documented the whole thing for you! {so, if you don’t mind a recap} Here we go!

 

Pho: Beef Noodle Soup

{Serves approx 6 people}

 

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz packaged rice noodles or vermicelli
  • 2 tsp peanut oil
  • 4 medium green onion green and white divided and chopped
  • 1 medium jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced
  • 1 TBSP ginger root minced/grated
  • 6 oz thinly sliced beef (at least 6 oz, depending on how ‘meaty’ you want your soup) I found some beef at Publix that they call “sandwich beef” that looks like what you would want for a prime rib sandwich, and that worked well when I cut it into small pieces. You can also use fajita beef cut into small chunks too.
  • 7 cups beef broth (I use the cubes and have this ready ahead of time)
  • 2 TBSP soy sauce
  • 2 TBSP cilantro chopped
  • 1 tsp hot pepper sauce or to taste (I use Tabasco and I also add a few drops of Chili Oil – found on the ethnic aisle at the grocery store)

1. Begin by making the seven {7} cups of beef broth in a large soup pot. I use the Knorr cubes. While this is heating … cut the meat into tiny cubes, and season with salt, pepper, and garlic salt if you wish.

2. Heat oil in a fry pan. Add white part of the onion, ginger, and jalapeño and sauté for approx 1 minute.

3. Add the meat and sauté for another 3 minutes. You don’t want to cook the meat all the way, just brown it, because it will cook more once it is in the soup. By doing this, you make sure the meat will be tender.

4. Transfer these ingredients to the pot of broth and add soy sauce. Bring to a boil, then simmer for approx 10 minutes. While simmering, cut package of rice noodles in half.

5. Add rice noodles to pot and let simmer for another 3 minutes. Remove from heat. Add the cilantro, green onion, and hot pepper sauce {if you are using chili oil add that in addition to the hot pepper sauce} Serve and enjoy!

Oh.my.deliciousness

 

This really hit the spot tonight. With a kick of spice and a big bowl of warmth … this is exactly what I was looking for to warm me up! Hope you enjoy the tutorial. And, as always, if you make it – I’d love to hear all about it! Night Ya’ll!

3 Responses to “Pho: Beef Noodle Soup Recipe {Picture Tutorial}”

  1. Ali January.7.2010 at 8:48 pm #

    This looks super good! My husband is Chinese, but he has introduced me to all types of yummy Asian cuisine. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. su January.13.2010 at 12:02 am #

    made this when you first posted it on fb….delicious! my kids loved it and complained that I didn’t make enough!

  3. Em July.13.2011 at 4:24 pm #

    thanks for the recipe! will definitely be trying this in the near future 🙂

Leave a Reply

