Tzatziki, Hummus & Flat Bread = Heaven

8 Jan

 

Everyone has the one joke that ‘haunts’ them at family get-togethers. Mine… well… mine is about food. {shocker} I lived with two brothers and my sister, and according to my mother I could eat all three of them under the table … combined! My mother loves to remind me that the grocery bill once I moved on to college dropped nearly in half. Still to this day, I can sit down and eat an entire tray {Costco sized tray, mind you} of Bagel Bites in one sitting! Perhaps my metabolism will catch up with me one of these days… I am approaching thirty {I can’t bare to utter that word} … but until then, I vow to continue snacking until my heart is content. And today, I had a GREAT idea for a snack. Now, I did not cook a single thing. I opened containers and used the oven for approximately three minutes. Domestic? Hardly. But, I literally moaned when I put this snack in my mouth. If you have even the smallest hunger, head out {run} to the grocery store and pick up the following:

 

1. Tandoori Naan {Indian Flat Bread}

{Package looks like}

2. Tzatziki Sauce/Dip

3. Garlic Roasted Hummus

4. Carlo Rossi: Pisano {BIG bottle} wink wink

 

I’m telling you … I was moaning. Clearly, I have a food problem. I brushed the flat bread with some olive oil and then heated it in the oven for about 3-4 minutes… ripped it into pieces and served with the hummus and tzatziki sauce and a good ole’ glass o’wine. Deliciousness. I ran out of the flat bread, or I’d be eating this as we speak .. crumbs on the keyboard and all. Please check for these items {or similar} at your grocery store. Ah’mazing!

4 Responses to “Tzatziki, Hummus & Flat Bread = Heaven”

  1. MaryPat January.9.2010 at 4:51 am #

    Now that I know you like that–Mike makes fantastic homemade tzatziki. Not that it’s difficult, but his always came out best. We used to go to Crete alot for work when we lived in England—we got addicted and constantly tried to recreate over the years. I’ll see if I can get him to send you directions to that and I’ll ask my friend Abeer (Syrian) for directions to her hummus. It’s also so easy but her’s is the best. So one night if you’re out and left with just naan again, you can make your own that will be even better. 🙂
    Do you like pickles? Pickles and hummus are great together too.

  2. :o) mg January.9.2010 at 10:49 am #

    OH how I wish I had been there…. my FAVE! Oh, and M, tell him I need the recipe for the tzatziki, too.

  3. MaryPat January.12.2010 at 8:11 am #

    Trying to get both recipes down in a sensical manner and will send to you both very soon–without the measurements in handfuls and kilograms which is so far the feedback I got when I asked how to make it.

Leave a Reply

