I Need Baking Powder: Stat!

9 Jan

 

I love to travel. However, interstate and country roads are not my idea of fun. Not being able to drive over 60 mph is grueling punishment for a lead foot like me. Today, I went home. I haven’t seen my family since October – so, two holidays later, there was a lot of catching up to do.

 

Santa came and brought me a new mixer. I literally opened the box, put it together, made a grocery list, and was at the grocery store within about an hour! I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to buy vanilla, flour, and baking powder! Oh… and the best part… my mom also gave me a copy of my grandmothers collection of recipes. Back when my parents got married, my grandmother gave my mom a collection of all her recipes. {maybe she was trying to say something} It’s been in our house ever since. I can remember as a little kid, going through the ‘blue binder’ looking for cookie recipes, etc. And, now I have my own copy!

 

Tonight we decided to bake a Apple Queen Cake out of the recipe book. {who cares if it is 11:30, I need to use my mixer}From the sounds of it, its kinda like a pineapple upside-down cake – only with apples and cherries instead of pineapple. We’ve got it in the oven right now {and took plenty of pictures to blog about it later} … although these are all hand written/photo copied recipes…. and we are thinking that “4 tsp” of baking powder may actually be “1/4 tsp of baking powder” … but we’ll see! Can’t taste that  different can it?! I’ll update you soon! Night Ya’ll!

 

2 Responses to “I Need Baking Powder: Stat!”

  1. anninmilanblog January.10.2010 at 5:00 am #

    was it 4 tsp or 1/4?

    • emergingdomesticity January.10.2010 at 10:56 am #

      The cake tasted delish! So, I’m gonna say it was 4, just like I made it! I put up the recipe and a picture tutorial late last night…. hope that helps. If you make it, I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

