Apple Queen Cake {Picture Tutorial}

10 Jan

 

I know I tell you all that I’m in love a lot. I really mean it this time. I’m in love with my new mixer. And, I’m in love with having a new cookbook {a collection of my grandmothers recipes} to tackle. Even though I’m visiting my family and I’m not in my own kitchen, I could not wait to jump into some baking! I flipped through the book a few times .. and decided upon the Apple Queen Cake. It called my name. And, of course, I had camera in hand the whole time. So, here we go!

 

Apple Queen Cake

{Serves Approx 8}

 

You will need:

3 TBSP Melted Butter

3/4 cup Brown Sugar

Sliced Apples {3-4 apples}

Cherries

1/4 cup Shortening

1/2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup White Sugar

1 Egg

1 cup Milk

2 cups Flour

4 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

 

And, here’s what you do:

Grease a 8×8 dish, well. {Apparently the only pans that exist in my mothers house are odd shaped 8×11 dishes, but it seemed to do the trick} You’ll make the topping first. Peel and slice the apples. Lay them in the bottom of the greased dish. Add a few cherries. Combine the melted butter and brown sugar and drop it over the apples in the pan.

To make the cake batter: Combine shortening, vanilla, white sugar, egg, milk, four, baking powder, and salt. Mix well {with your brand new mixer that Santa bought you – or any mixer will do} After mixing, pour over the apple/cherry/sugar mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes. Let cook and FLIP! {the fun part}

I really, really, REALLY  wish that I would have had some vanilla bean ice cream to serve with this cake. My mom and I decided that we would not touch this cake until tomorrow nights family dinner …. clearly, we couldn’t wait … perhaps that means we can just bake some more goodies tomorrow! ahhhh… yumm.

Incredible. Fluffy. Moist. Apple’y. Hope you enjoy … and, as always, if you make it – I’d love to hear!

Night Ya’ll!

One Response to “Apple Queen Cake {Picture Tutorial}”

  1. :o) mg January.19.2010 at 9:16 pm #

    That thing is just plain gaw-juss!

Leave a Reply

