Sweet Potato Souffle {Picture Tutorial}

11 Jan

 

I remember when I was a child, my aunt would bring sweet potato souffle to Thanksgiving dinner each year. It scared me. It was orange. And, a sweet potato. Who eats sweet potatoes? So, it never went near my plate. It wasn’t until last year at Thanksgiving {after what 20 years?} that I actually tasted the sweet potato dish. Holy dessert! I had no idea it was sweet and tasty … like cheating and eating dessert while eating dinner! Ever since, it has been a staple on my holiday menu {ok. one Thanksgiving and one Christmas} but it will be a staple from now on! I made it for my family on Sunday for our “Second Christmas Dinner” and, in the mad dash to wrap up the meal, only got a few pictures … but I think you will get the idea! So, here we go:

 

Sweet Potato Souffle {Simple, Easy, Delicious}

{Serves Approx 6}

{Adapted from: Cooks.com}

 

You will need:

Two 16 oz cans of Sweet Potatoes (I only had one large can, and it worked just fine)

1 cup brown sugar

Approx 2/3 TBSP salt

1 tsp cinnamon

2 eggs beaten

1/2 cup butter

1 pkg of small marshmallows

 

And, here’s what you do:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease casserole dish with butter. Mix all ingredients until thoroughly mixed. Place half of mixture in dish. Place a layer of marshmallows on top. Top with the other half of the mixture. Bake for 30 minutes. Top with layer of marshmallows. Cook for an additional 10 minutes, or until marshmallow topping is lightly browned. Serve.

{Top of plate} Of course, I didn’t get a picture before it left the dish.

 

This truly is an easy, delicious, classic dish. I hope you enjoy & as always, if you make it – I’d love to hear all about it! Night Ya’ll. {for real this time}

One Response to “Sweet Potato Souffle {Picture Tutorial}”

  1. christinaslittleworldtwo January.12.2010 at 3:08 pm #

    that looks delicious and not THAT hard to make. i may try it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

