Perfect Pound Cake w/ Blueberry Syrup {Picture Tutorial}

17 Jan

 

I was so full and happy from my dinner last night, that I left out a few details that you might find amusing:

  • I burnt my thumb by grabbing the lid of the dutch oven out of pure excitement to see what my efforts {and dutch oven} had created. It’s fine now – but still a little tender. Thanks for asking.
  • I made garlic whipped potatoes in my new mixer. I love boiling them {Yukon gold} until almost all the water is out of the pot, and they fall to mush as soon as they land in the strainer. The mixer gives them such a good consistency, and the foodie bf was very excited about them.
  • I should have taken a picture of our plates after dinner. If I wouldn’t be so completely mortified, I’d tell you we licked them clean … {did I just say that out loud?}
  • I’m craving some leftovers and will probably want to cook this once a week for at least the next three months! Anyone wanna come over for dinner?!

 

Now, moving on to a more serious topic: Dessert. You probably know from my blogroll, that I follow the Pioneer Woman. {and want to get her cookbook} She posted yesterday about “The Perfect Pound Cake,” and let me tell you it is perfect! You can count this as my second “from scratch” cake … made with my new mixer of course. And, me being the domestic goddess in training that I am, I decided that the recipe needed a little addition: fresh blueberry syrup. Little did I know that pound cake and blueberry syrup is an “Alaskan thing” according to the Alaskan Foodie BF. So, not only was it utterly delicious, but brought the bf a bit of ‘home’…. go me! Success.

 

You need, need, need to make this cake! Trust me. And, since I know you are going to listen to me, here’s what you’ll do:

 

You will need:

3 Sticks of Butter {Room temperature/Softened} Hello Hips!

3 Cups of Sugar

5 Whole Eggs

1 TSP Butter Flavoring

2 TSP Lemon Flavoring

3 Cups All-Purpose Flour

1 Cup of Sprite or 7-up {I used Sprite}

 

And, here’s what you do:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Cream the butter in your mixer until fluffy. Add sugar {one cup at a time} mixing after each addition. Add eggs {one at a time} mixing after each addition. Add butter and lemon extracts, and mix well. Add flour {one cup at a time} mixing well after each addition. Add Sprite, then mix together until combined. Scrape sides of bowl and mix again. Pour into well greased Bundt pan {this is the only one I had} and bake for 1 hour – 1 hour and 10 minutes. Until the cake is no longer “jiggly.”

 

To make Blueberry Syrup

{Emeril recipe found online}

I combined 1 cup of fresh berries with 3/4 cup of sugar, 3/4 cup water, and 2 teaspoons of lemon juice. I brought the mixture to a boil and then simmered until it was the consistency I wanted. Probably about 15 minutes.

 

Prepare yourself now … this is going to make you hungry! … If you dont’ have the ingredients to make this cake right away, you may want to stop reading RIGHT NOW! … Be warned!

 

Ah’mazing. De’lish. I give you the Perfect Piece of Pound Cake

 

Its ok, you can exhale now. And, on that note… I think I’m going to go get a piece of cake! Hope you all run out and make this little baby. And, if you do – I’d love to hear how it goes! Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Perfect Pound Cake w/ Blueberry Syrup {Picture Tutorial}”

  1. :o) mg January.19.2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Do you happen to know that pound cake and fresh fruit salad is my all-time favorite dessert of ALL time?!?!?!

    Still proud of you, girl.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sprite Pound Cake | Heaven on a Plate! « Emerging Domesticity - August.4.2010

    […] Sweet glorious cake.  I’ve posted before about the wonderful recipe I have for “Sprite Pound Cake” … well, I made it again last night.  I actually planned ahead {shocking, I know} and […]

Leave a Reply

