At Least the Dog Eats Well

19 Jan

 

Running around like crazy… check

 

Getting something domestic accomplished … big, fat negative! {unless you count the piles of laundry I washed, folded, and put away}

 

I’ve gotten to know myself again in the last week. Well.. a side of me that had been on vacation for the last six months or so … the worker-bee side. I’m a woman on a mission. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve just started a new career. Scary and exciting at the same time. Scary because there are so many challenges to starting a new career; the learning curve. Exciting because I’m using my degree, my mind, and my ability again. It energizes me and makes me want more, more, more. As for the domestic adventures… they’ve been a little slow since Sunday. We’ve been eating whatever I can find in the fridge that isn’t two-week-old leftovers, unrecognizable, or growing mold. At least the poor dog gets the same thing every night … he doesn’t have to worry about “mommy” not having a good idea for dinner! I think a truly domestic woman can look in the fridge and come up with a dinner on the spot. Perhaps I will get to that point. I’m certainly not there yet though. Substituting bacon for chicken in a chicken, broccoli and cheese casserole – not such a good idea. Tuna in place of ground beef in spaghetti sauce – also, not such a good idea. Substituting pepper jack cheese for cheddar in a grilled cheese – not so much. Ehhh… I’m just going to concede to failure tonight and make some kind of frozen meal. {Gasp!}

 

Have you ever seen these:

 

Alright … Stop the laughing. I’m being very serious. I was introduced to these packaged meals a few years ago. Someone we knew got a double shipment and didn’t have any freezer space, so we inherited the extra. I’m telling you, they are actually pretty good. Everything is “boil-a-bag” style. You simply boil a big pot of water and drop the bags in for a few minutes, and whala – dinner. I would never recommend them to a family because it would be too expensive .. but they are perfect for an older person, or a single person… {or a domestic-wanna-be like me} Perfect for when you have no idea what to cook. We try to leave a few in our freezer at all times; our fall-back plan. Anyhow, check them out: Home Bistro

 

Thats all for tonight, ya’ll. I’m pooped, have some reading to do, and would really like a bath. {Now, if that didn’t sound domestic .. I don’t know what does!}

One Response to “At Least the Dog Eats Well”

  1. MaryPat January.19.2010 at 10:37 pm #

    Cute! I’m loving this post, it’s making me giggle!

Leave a Reply

