Bring Me the Buns!

26 Jan

 

I’m told that if I ask politely, the grocery store will order special things for me. If this is the truth, I’m so excited. You see, I have this problem … a few weeks ago, I told you about the most amazing hot dog buns ever invented {Snuggles} and today I was told the grocery store near my house was no longer carrying them. So, I headed 25 minutes to Publix {they always have them} where the lady in the bakery told me they are discontinued {there is no way this is possible} … Ugh. I know you are thinking, I’m out of my mind and that “it’s just a hot dog bun” but I’m telling you: they are amazing! I was so disappointed – tonight I was going to make chili cheese dogs with the leftover chili from last night {I know, I know. How domestic of me.} In the end, I settled for the regular hot dog buns, but  just don’t think they hold in the chili as well as the U-shaped Snuggles. And, since they are made with more of a pita texture they don’t burn when you try to toast them in the oven. The regular ones did ok though and I felt proud to actually use my leftovers for another purpose! {go me}

 

On a completely different note: I’m a cheese lover. While at Publix, I was able to snag some of my favorite cheese; Port Salut. I adore this as a snack on some warmed up French bread with some salami. Yum. If you haven’t tried it, I really suggest you do. It’s ah’mazing! {and will be in my belly for lunch tomorrow, if I can wait that long} … Night ya’ll!

 

One Response to “Bring Me the Buns!”

  1. Bernice March.31.2010 at 11:50 am #

    I too fell for the Snuggles hotdog rolls and can’t find them anywhere. They were the best. They held all the goodies in nicely and tasted better than any hotdog roll I’ve ever eaten. Don’t remember who made them. I only bought 2 packages and when I went back for more no one had them. If you find them or know who made them please let me know.

Leave a Reply

