Slim Pickin’s

29 Jan

 

Tuna, Tomato Soup, Fettuccine Noodles, Sliced Cheese, Lettuce, Milk, Blueberries, Bacon, Grapefruit, Wheat Thins, Carnation Instant Breakfast, Half a Loaf of Almost Crusty Bread, Fiber Bars, Four Day Old Chili, 5 Potatoes, and a Partridge in a Pear Tree….

 

{I wish you could have heard me singing}

 

 

The pickin’s are slim in my refrigerator this lovely night… I haven’t been to the store in almost two weeks. Now, a “domestic goddess” would probably be able to whip up a five star gourmet meal from the few trinkets I have in my pantry … but this wanna-be … she made grilled cheese and a wee’ bit -o- tomato soup. It calmed by grumbling belly for now, but I’m sure I’ll be hungry again by midnight. I just have a hole in my tummy that never fills up. {ask my mother how much she spent on groceries when I lived at the house!}

 

I have yet to determine the best method for grilled cheese. Do you butter the bread, or butter the pan? Real cheese or Kraft Singles? Frying Pan or Panini Maker? Sliced from corner to corner or down the middle? Personally, I’m a fan of buttering the bread first, using real cheese {two slices}, on a frying pan, sliced right down the middle… But that’s just me. What about you?!

 

Hope you all had a great day … I’m off to hit the hay. Black-tie dinner party tomorrow and can’t wait! I’ll have to give you all a report on the food/drink! Night ya’ll!!

2 Responses to “Slim Pickin’s”

  1. it's a secret January.29.2010 at 9:15 pm #

    mmm grilled cheese! and that’s just the way I like it 🙂

  2. :o) mg February.6.2010 at 10:32 pm #

    definitely butter the bread first…. the cheese is secondary

Leave a Reply

