Chicken Broccoli & Rice Casserole {Picture Tutorial}

1 Feb

 

Ever wander around the grocery store just praying that dinner will jump in the cart on its own? I swear I walked up and down the aisles pushing my cart for a good thirty minutes before I came up with a dinner idea. Most people probably have an idea before they go to the store …. but I’m not most people. Clearly. So, tonight we are having Chicken and Broccoli Casserole. {the chicken just begged me to jump in the cart} I blogged about it once before: here, but never posted any pictures. Tonight, you get pictures.

 

Here’s what you need:

4 TBSPs of Butter

1/3 Cup of Flour

1 TSP of Salt

1/8 TSP of Pepper

1/8 TSP of Garlic Powder

1 Cup of Chicken Broth

1 1/2 Cup of Milk

1 Bag of Instant Rice (you know, ‘Boil a Bag’)

2 Cups of Chicken (Tonight I used fresh chicken, but you can use the frozen Tyson kind that comes in cubes too!)

1/4 Cup of Shredded Cheddar Cheese (I usually use much more cheese than is called for!)

3/4 Cup of Frozen Broccoli (I use the small florets, and also use more than is called for!)

Bread Crumbs for Topping

 

 

And, here’s what you do:

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and start the rice. I’m using fresh chicken tonight, so I’m starting by cutting up the chicken and cooking it with a little butter and salt/pepper.

 

 

Remove the chicken from pan. Melt butter over low heat. Combine flour, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Slowly add to the butter until paste starts to form and gets bubbly.

 

 

Once paste is smooth and bubbly, add chicken broth and milk. Whisk constantly, over medium heat, until mixture becomes creamy and smooth. Let boil for about one minute {continue to whisk}.

 

 

Mix in remaining ingredients: chicken, cheese, rice, and broccoli.

 

 

Pour into casserole dish, and cover with thin layer of bread crumbs. Put in oven for approx 40-45 minutes, or until bread crumbs start to brown around edges. Let stand for 5-10 minutes to thicken before serving.

 

 

This dinner turned out great, and was exactly what my tummy wanted tonight! Perfect comfort food for a chilly night {and easy too!} I love making this too, because it makes great leftovers. A lot of times leftovers don’t get used in my house … but this one never fails! I hope you have time to make it and enjoy it when you do! And, as always – I’d love to hear all about it! Night Ya’ll!

 

Leave a Reply

