Monday Night Musings

15 Feb

 

Have you officially hit rock bottom when you eat a microwave-able miniature sausage biscuit for breakfast and a bologna sandwich for lunch? {By the way, I only know how to spell bologna because of the Oscar Mayer song we used to sing as kids!}

 

It seems the theme of my blog the last few weeks has been how to incorporate being busy and working full time with being a domestic goddess. Perhaps my definition of “domestic goddess” will change over time. I have so much going on right now that food and eating in general are just after thoughts to my day. Once I get home from work, change into sweats and finally sit down … all of a sudden my brain say “food!” and I grump’ily roll along.

 

I did eat a piece of the most amazing Carmel Cake the other day. I’d love to learn how to make it. The whole cake seemed to be dipped in a Carmel “frosting” that had a texture almost like a chocolate shell on an ice cream …{mmm, I need to roll of this couch to Dairy Queen!}  If anyone reading has a recipe or knows where I could find a great one, please let me know!

 

Lastly, I’m really excited because my mom found a cookbook from one of my favorite restaurants in our hometown. She’s mailing it to me because it has a recipe for Gumbo in it that I can not wait to make. I’ve been craving this gumbo so much that I seriously contemplated calling the restaurant to see if I could get them to ship me some. One time I even packed a whole cooler of it and drove it 4 1/2 hours home on ice! Now – that is LOVE!

 

Oh, and as a final thought – I had full intentions of baking cookies for Valentines Day that I was then going to ice to look like those little conversation hearts you get when you are in elementary school – yeah, didn’t get around to that either! ha ha {Story of my Life}

 

Night Ya’ll

2 Responses to “Monday Night Musings”

  1. it's a secret February.15.2010 at 8:36 pm #

    What restaurant?

  2. :o) mg February.17.2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Which hometown?

Leave a Reply

