Broken Down Chicken Casserole

1 Mar

 

Oh, honey … I’m cooking!

 

Call me plain-Jane, I made Chicken Casserole again. Although, I did experiment with some new flavors tonight {just not by choice}… So, I made a pit-stop at the grocery store on the way home from work tonight and grabbed some frozen broccoli, fresh chicken, and a can of chicken broth. What’s better than a casserole when you have no idea what to make but need to cook something filling that piles all the meat and veggies into one big heap?? Casserole it is. Needless to say, when I got home, I had run out of pepper and cheddar cheese. Great. Just my lucky day. So the improv began. No pepper? Ahh… how about some Montreal Chicken Seasoning. No cheddar cheese? Ahh… how about some shredded swiss? And while we’re at it, lets add a bit more rice this time too… And what does this give you? One really really bland casserole. I swear it was like eating plain chicken and rice. Thankfully, I made a salad and heated up some frozen French dinner rolls to supplement said casserole. Ehhh… I can’t win when I try new things without a recipe. I NEED RECIPES. And, I need to follow them! Otherwise we end up with concoctions like Bland Chicken Casserole a-la Domestic Goddess. Blah!

 

Tomorrow is an uber busy day. I’ve got a list of to-do’s that stretches across this room … but you know I love that. Hope you all had a great day & a better dinner than me! In closing … my list:

  • Buy more cheddar cheese
  • Go to Petsmart – Dog needs wet food. {My dog eats half wet/half dry. And, it has to be mixed REALLY well or he will pick out the dry pieces and lay them on the floor. Spoiled}
  • After a week of sitting in the dryer, the dry clothes are probably ready to be folded and put away
  • Clean this computer screen
  • Random Fact: My first car died on the side of the interstate. My mom always told me if it ever died, to take out anything that had my name on it and leave it there. {It was old, old, old} So, thats exactly what I did and the next day I called a tow-truck and he paid ME $100 to keep it. Match made in heaven.
One Response to “Broken Down Chicken Casserole”

  1. MaryPat March.2.2010 at 9:18 am #

    I’m too impatient and rebellious to follow recipes most of the time, and you are totally right, it is hit or miss when it’s time to eat. This is one of the reasons Mike now does the baking–which takes precision.
    The first time I made a whiskey cake I misread the amount of whiskey and put in about triple the amount called for. I gave the first cake to a friend for her birthday and the second to a boss–both made incorrectly. I ate a piece of the third cake I made that way. WOW. It burned my nose when I got a bite near my mouth, it was so strong. They were both polite (ish) but decided not to buy any when I asked during the fundraiser. 🙂

Leave a Reply

