Beef Stroganoff Picture Tutorial

13 Aug

It is so like me to wait until I’m in the grocery store parking lot {waiting out the late afternoon typhoon pouring down from the heavens to pass} to pull up a recipe for Beef Stroganoff on my phone, write down the ingredients and have the bright idea that this would be a good meal for dinner … tonight … at 8:30pm. Who does that? Anyhow, I got home a little bit later and got to work chopping mushrooms, {which I hate but thought I would give a try again for the sake of a good dinner} shallots and beef. I honestly think I’m the only person who decides to tackle a “real dinner” after 8pm. Regardless, the dinner came out quite delicious and I wanted to share it with you all…. Enjoy!

You will need: 6TBSP of butter {yes}, 1 pound of top sirloin or tenderloin cut into thin strips about an inch long, 1/3 cup of chopped shallots {this seemed like a lot, I didn’t use that much and just kinda eyeballed it}, 1/2 pound of cremini mushrooms sliced {yuck, yuck but I did it anyways. I couldn’t stand to measure them so I just chopped up half a container and called it a day}, 1/8 tsp of nutmeg, 1/2 tsp of dry tarragon and 1 cup of sour cream at room temperature. {By the way … I LOVE SOUR CREAM!}

 

Beef Stroganoff Ingredients

 

It’s actually quite simple.  You’re going to want to do all your chopping first … get your water boiling for the egg noodles. {Oh, did I mention those already? Well, you’ll want to serve this with egg noodles, potatoes or rice.} Next heat up a pan with three tbsp of butter.  The idea is to brown the meat on both sides quickly as to not dry out the middle. Make sure to salt and pepper it well while it’s doing its thing … Once you’ve browned the pieces on each side for a few minutes, put the meat in a bowl and set aside. 

Beff Stroganoff

 

Looks yummy doesn’t it?!  After you set aside the meat, add the extra 3 tbsp’s of butter and bring the heat down a bit.  Saute the shallots for a few minutes until tender and then take them off the heat and add them to the meat.  Do the same thing with the mushrooms.  I’m assuming that they wanted me to do these two steps separate like I just described to you … but I got a little over zealous when I was chopping and added the shallots and mushrooms to the same bowl and there was no way that I was going to sit there and pick them out … so everything got sautéed together and it turned out just fine. 

No mushrooms

 

Notice something missing in the picture above? …. Mushrooms perhaps?  Yes, I spent “a few” minutes chopping mushrooms that I hate because I was going to give them the benefit of the doubt, until the foodie bf came along and threw half of them down the garbage disposal. Yeah, he doesn’t care for them either.  So, the moral of the story is that Beef Stroganoff can be made with little to no mushrooms and still taste wonderful!  Next comes the good part, the sour cream.  You’re going to want to add a cup of sour cream to the mushrooms {or the mushrooms AND shallots if you combine them like me} being careful not to bring it to a boil … apparently sour cream can curdle.  {Add salt and pepper at this point if you’d like}

Beef Stroganoff Picture

 

Lastly, you’re going to return the meat to the pan and cook for just a bit longer to bring the meat back up to temperature from sitting patiently in that bowl.  A little note: When I browned the beef I got a lot of moisture that came out of the mean and so I had a good bit of liquid in my meat bowl. In hindsight, I added a bit to much of it to the sour cream and made it a little bit too runny for my liking.  Next time I will drain the meat, saving a bit of the liquid in case the sauce is too thick and I can add a bit in at a time.  But, that’s cooking for you … a learning process.

 

So there you have it my friends.  The dinner that was born from waiting on the rain to pass in the parking lot of the grocery store at 8:30pm on a Friday night.  I’m sure there are other people out there like me… it may just take me a while to find them!! {ha} Enjoy Y’all …

4 Responses to “Beef Stroganoff Picture Tutorial”

  1. Your Number One Fan August.14.2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Looks yummy but not exactly diet food!!

  2. su August.15.2010 at 1:50 pm #

    well, you’ve even made mushrooms look yummy.—and i don’t do fungi.
    my family likes them tho, and i just might have to treat them to this!

  3. :o) mg August.15.2010 at 11:28 pm #

    Great. Now I’m hungry.

  4. om nom nom February.4.2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Looks very nice n described well but 2things missing. 1 you missed out when you add the taragon I’m guessing you added this after the cream. Secondly you missed out paprika as tradition colour is a deep red. But none the less a truly scrumy dish.

Leave a Reply

