Chili Warms the Soul

19 Aug

It’s pouring rain here tonight. Last night we had some serious storms … horizontal rain … which I got to drive in on the way home from a meeting. I can barely see to drive in the dark, let alone horizontal rain and whipping winds. Needless to say, I thought a traffic signal or tree were surely going to come flying in my window at any point.  Anyhow, this little story is just to explain why I want to make a big pot of chili in the middle of the summer.  It’s perfect for this rainy night.  This is the recipe I used: Read my chili blog here.  But, I used 2 pounds of meat. I also had the wonderful “fortune” of trying to find eggs in the middle of an egg-recall. You’d think the grocery store would have a list of the ones NOT to buy … but no.  So, I bought two kinds and said a little prayer that when I got home the factory numbers would be ok.  They passed.  The eggs were needed for the corn muffins in case you were wondering how I was using eggs in my chili. {ha} Anyhow… enjoy ya’ll! Have a great night!

2 Responses to “Chili Warms the Soul”

  1. :o) mg August.20.2010 at 10:10 pm #

    Sugar in chili?

    • emergingdomesticity August.20.2010 at 10:29 pm #

      Why, yes! Takes out some of the acidity from the tomatoes. Don’t cha know?

Leave a Reply

